top of page

Bluebell Heaven


Bluebell Heaven

Bluebell Heaven

I have been photographing Dockey Wood on the National Trust estate at Ashridge in the Chilterns for about eight years now but this image is the most special to me. Taken as the early morning sun broke through the trees illuminating a carpet of vibrant bluebells it truly was magical.

Using my Manfrotto tripod and Canon cable release, pointing the camera directly at the sun but deliberately obscuring it as much as possible behind the tree trunks just enough to give the image that sunburst effect. Edited initially in Lightroom to enhance the colours and a couple of minor tweaks in Photoshop to complete.

Featured on Instagram by several hubs including Tree_Magic which received over 10,000 likes and by Hannah Argyle's lovely #momentsofmine group this evening which was liked over 2,400 times.

I will be back here next year but I'm not sure I will be able to capture this scene quite as well again.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page