top of page

In my Bag


Camera & Lenses

For the past seven years now I have been using a Canon 450D and three lenses to capture my work, I'm overdue a new camera and would probably opt for a Canon 5D after using one to photograph a couple of weddings. But this workhorse has been an outstanding piece of equipment and has produced some fantastic images for me. I purchased it from Argos in a kit that included the EFS 18-55 IS, (I had to replace this lens due to the auto focus failing, a brand new one from EBay was about £70, I then sold the faulty one on Ebay for spares) which I use for most of my images these days and the EFS 55-250 IS for longer shots.

My wide angle lens is a Tamron10-24 77mm diameter which I actually won in a photography competition run by Hertfordshire Life magazine. A lot of my large landscapes have been taken with this lens, you have to be careful when you are right down at 10mm because of the distortion but this can also be used to good effect to obtain some unusual results.

Battery life on these cameras always amazes me, I have had an original battery which came with the kit and it still performs well even in cold conditions. I have shot in RAW for the past seven years and I would never shoot in Jpeg now due to the sheer versatility that a RAW file enables. Intuitive menu structure which I find very easy to use and lightweight to use.

I originally purchased a Canon over Nikon purely for the fact that I was teaching myself the basics and liked the PhotoPlus magazine and it was geared towards the Canon brand.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page